Potato Logs

potato logs

Some people call them “potato logs,” some people call them “potato wedges,” and some people call them “jo-jo’s.”  But regardless of what name you refer to them as, I’m sure you call them “Good stuff.”  I have wondered how to make these for years – probably since I worked at a gas station in high school.  We sold them there, and since I was often the one “cooking,” I often wondered how the pre-cooked, frozen foods came to be in the first place, something I still do to this day, in fact.  Anyway, we hosted an Easter get together at our house a couple of weeks ago for some of my family.  We provided the fried chicken and biscuits, leaving the sides and stuff to everyone else.  However, knowing My Honey’s eating habits as I do, I thought I would cook some potato logs for his sake, but I couldn’t find any at the store.  Enter Google.  One quick search, and I came up with this KFC copycat recipe.  (http://deep-fried.food.com/recipe/kfc-potato-wedges-58942)  They are a little time intensive, but by no means hard.  (I mean, we’re talking about deep frying potatoes here.)  Well, I guess that’s all I know other than the recipe, and here it is.

*****************************************************

Ingredients:

  • shortening or oil (for frying)
  • 5 baking potatoes, cut into wedges
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons salt (This can be cut down to about 1 1/2 tablespoons or even 1 tablespoon, if you like things low sodium.)
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 dash garlic powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat shortening to 375°F.
  1. Cut the potatoes into 16 to 18 equal size wedges.
  1. Mix the egg and milk till well blended in a big bowl.
  1. Mix the dry ingredients into a large bowl.
  1. Put some potatoes in the milk and egg then into the flour mixture till well coated.
  1. Fry in fryer for 3 minutes, remove from the oil and allow them to sit for one minute and then cook them again for 5 minutes or until cooked.
  1. It may take up to 6 minutes.
2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Potato Logs

  1. Deanie

    Crystal,
    Try baking your potatoes in the microwave. Let them cool completely. Refrigerate them a few hours or overnight, if you want. Cooling them makes them easier to cut and keeps them from falling apart. Then season them as desired and dip in egg and buttermilk batter and rolling in flour and fry. This cuts the fry time down. All you have to do, is fry until golden brown. If you want extra crunchy, then roll in flour, then dip in egg batter, then dip in flour again. Works good with left over baked potatoes.

    • Hmm….I will have to remember that. I know that with French Fries, it’s suggested to let them soak in cold water for awhile, like an hour or so to draw out some of the starch so that they fry crispy.

Leave a Reply

