Chinese Buffet Donuts

chinese buffet donuts

Have you ever eaten at a Chinese buffet?  If so, then you’ve probably seen the little half-moon shaped, sugar coated donuts on the bar.  I’m pretty sure they are not a Chinese food, but picky eaters have to have something to eat.  Anyway, I hadn’t thought of those donuts in quite some time, but I ran across this recipe at some point and thought I would give it a try.  It doesn’t taste exactly like I remember those donuts tasting, but I thought they were good.  Something to change up breakfast with sometime.  I found the original recipe here:  http://www.tastebook.com/recipes/3257268-Chinese-Buffet-Donuts?full_recipe=true.

A fun twist on this recipe:  dust the donuts in powdered sugar, rather than granulated sugar.  Then, you’ll have another childhood memory food of mine:  biscuit donuts.  Mmmm!

*********************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • oil for frying
  • granulated sugar for coating donuts

Directions:

  1. Mix together flour, salt, baking powder.
  2. Crumble butter into flour mixture with fingers or a pastry cutter.
  3. Make a well in the flour mixture, and add milk.
  4. Using a fork, mix until a soft ball forms.
  5. On a floured surface, knead 10-12 times.
  6. Cut into small pieces.  Flatten a bit.  (I used my smallest sized biscuit cutter to cut out biscuits; then, I cut each circle in half.  The first batch, I did not cut into halves, and the donuts fell apart during frying.)
  7. Fry each side for about 2 minutes.
  8. Remove from oil, drain, and roll in sugar.
  9. Serve and enjoy!
3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Chinese Buffet Donuts

  1. Angie Marie

    I really like your blog. I have a blog called 6 or less and I am posting my recipes which use 6 ingredients or less. I would love to reblog your Chinese buffet donuts. I have never used the reblog feature but I think these are awesome and I would love to feature them.

  2. Angie Marie

    Reblogged this on 6 Or Less and commented:
    Crystal’s blog Following Footprints is full of stuff that I want to eat. That includes these Chinese donuts. When my husband and I were dating he would fry canned biscuits in oil using this same method, and then roll them in either white sugar or cinnamon sugar. This recipe is the real deal though–no canned stuff here. I must give them a try.

    It seems like copycat recipes are on the rise. Do you have a favorite restaurant food that you make at home or wish you had the recipe for?

Leave a Reply

