Quick and Simple Tomato Pasta Sauce

simple spag sauce

This is a simple, quick, and sneaky spaghetti sauce.  I’ve made it several times now, and My Honey and my son both eat it heartily.  My favorite part about this sauce is its sneakiness.  You have to understand that tomatoes have a nice strong, acidic flavor that can mask other vegetables.  In this case, carrots, but please, don’t tell my husband.  In time, I might even be brave enough to try to sneak in some zucchini.  I’m sure I’ll have to peel it, though.  Baby steps…baby steps….

I have used this sauce on spaghetti and in lasagna.  It can be used on just about any kind of pasta dish or even on pizza or with breadsticks.  I make it smooth because that’s how my husband likes it, but if you like it chunky, then make it how you want.  You can also try adding some different vegetables.  I have heard that beets are a nice, bland vegetable that is remarkably good for you.  There is also butternut squash, and maybe even eggplant, though, I don’t know how strong of a flavor those have.  Not to mention, if you’d rather, use actual onions and garlic rather than the dehydrated, powdered versions.  (Nicholas isn’t much of a vegetable person, at all.)  If you do use fresh onion and garlic, I would recommend one clove of garlic and maybe half a cup of diced onion.  Just have fun with it.

Anyway, this sauce is simple enough.  A little of this, a little of that, a blender on liquefy, and batta-bing, batta-boom, you’ve got sauce.  Just heat and serve.  So, the question is, are you ready for the recipe?  I hope so because here it comes.

*******************************************

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 can (about 15 oz.) of carrots, drained
  • 1 can (about 15 oz.) some kind of tomatoes – whole, diced, petite diced, or crushed
  • 1 can (about 15 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1-2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tbsp. Italian seasoning
  • 2 – 2 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 2 – 2 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • dash ground cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp. grated parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. In a blender, puree carrots and diced tomatoes.
  2. Add tomato sauce and tomato paste.  Blend.
  3. Add seasonings and spices.  Blend.
  4. Use as you wish for pasta dishes.  It just needs to heat through.
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

