Drop Cookies

drop cookies

I got to searching for a simple cookie recipe recently in my collection of cookbooks.  I ran across one that only required a few ingredients and seemed simple enough.  I have to admit, it is simple, and you probably do have all the required ingredients, but it will be one of the more unique cookies that you have probably ever made.  The recipe is simply called “Drop Cookies,” and it’s from the Quick and Easy Family Baking cookbook.  It makes a very crumbly, buttery cookie that is admittedly a little bland, but go ahead and try it.  Throw a little flavoring in the icing, and enjoy!  I wasn’t very crazy about it, but my husband did like it.  And that’s what matters in my book.  🙂

*****************************************************

Ingredients: 

Cookie

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt  (I added this myself because the dough was so bland.)

Icing

  • 3 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

Cookie

  1. Preheat oven to 350-degrees.
  2. Mix butter, cornstarch, sugar, salt, and flour in a bowl until well blended.  (I had to use my fingers some and then sort of mush it all together.  The dough is very crumbly.)
  3. Drop onto cookie sheet in small balls and flatten slightly.
  4. Bake for about 15 minutes, but do NOT brown.
  5. When cool, ice.

Icing

  1. Blend all ingredients in a bowl and mix well.
  2. Ice cookies.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

