Mama’s Baked Beans

baked beans

Hello, again, from your friendly, slow-to-update blogger!  😀  It has been a busy few months:  birthdays, anniversary, buying a house, moving, family reunions, and life in general.  These baked beans have actually made an appearance at two of this summer’s events:  Erin’s, my mother-in-law, birthday party and the church homecoming potluck.  They were lapped up lickedy-split at the party and were over half gone at the potluck.  (In fact, after the party, My Honey’s cousin Caleb told me that I’m the best because I brought the baby and the beans.  High praise, I think.)  Now, I made a large pan of them (bigger than a 9×13) both times, but I do have a small version of the recipe that I will post on here.  It will fit in a nice square baking pan, about 8×8 or 9×9.  It’s my Mama’s own recipe.  She even made a special trip to the house to teach me how to make them before the birthday party.  Seeing Connor had nothing to do with it.  😉

*****************************************

Ingredients:

  • 2 (15 oz.-ish) can of Showboat pork-n-beans
  • 2 tbsp. yellow mustard
  • 1/4 cup BBQ sauce
  • 1/4 cup picante sauce
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 lb. bacon, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2-3 tbsp. brown sugar (for topping)

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl, mix together mustard, BBQ sauce, picante sauce, and 1/4 cup brown sugar.
  2. Fold in beans.  Combine well. Pour into baking dish.
  3. In a skillet, half-cook the bacon pieces.
  4. Spread bacon pieces (grease and all) on top of the beans.
  5. Sprinkle remaining brown sugar on top of bacon.
  6. Bake at 375-degrees for about an hour, until the bacon is crispy.
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

