Tortellini With Meat Sauce

tortelini in meat sauce

A couple of weeks ago or so, I posted a recipe called Tortellini Vegetable Bake.  If you remember, it had a creamy white sauce with lots of fresh vegetables, all mixed together and baked to a bubbly goodness.  You can find that recipe here:  https://crystalpoe.wordpress.com/2013/06/28/tortellini-vegetable-bake/.  Well, when I was buying ingredients for that recipe, I couldn’t remember how much tortellini I needed, so I bought two bags.  Guess what.  I only needed one, so I’m back with another tortellini dish.  I made this one for supper last night, so it had to be something My Honey would eat, hence the meat sauce.  This dish is super simple and pretty quick.  Serve with a salad or vegetables of your choice and a peice of warm bread, and bam!  You’ve got supper.  I hope you like it!

***************************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 1 package (19 oz.) of cheese stuffed tortellini
  • 1 lb. of ground meat  (I used beef, but I also had a little leftover browned sausage that I threw in, too.  You can use turkey, pork, or whatever your heart desires.)
  • 1 can (15 oz.) petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (15 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1 tbsp. Italian seasoning
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 tsp. onion powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 3-4 slices provolone cheese

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, boil the tortellini in salted water until the noodles float.
  2. Meanwhile, in a 9-inch skillet, brown your meat.  Drain off grease.
  3. In the skillet, combine meat, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper.
  4. Layer tortellini noodles in a 9×13 baking dish (or an electric skillet with a lid).  I used my large electric skillet because my oven was in use baking some Cheesy Italian Quick Bread.  (Watch for the post on that.)
  5. Pour sauce onto noodles and stir until noodles are coated well.
  6. Sprinkle on parmesan cheese.
  7. Tear Provolone slices into pieces and toss on top.
  8. Bake at 350 until cheese is melted and sauce is bubbly.  (If you’re using a skillet, cover with lid and cook on low (as low as it will go) heat until cheese is melted.)
  9. Serve and enjoy!

tortelini and Italian quick bread meal

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

