Homemade Play-Dough

playdough

I’ve been watching my little nieces some here lately, and guess what, it’s been raining a lot here lately.  Trust me, when you’ve got a 4 month old, an 11 month old, and a 3 year old, you need the 3 year old to be able to play quietly alone more than you care to admit, especially when outside isn’t an option.  The best way to do that is to introduce a “special” toy only for her that the babies cannot have.  Enter play-dough.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I’m not interested in buying a bunch of stinky colored dough that will get all mixed up in one session and dried about by the third, especially when I can make my own version that doesn’t smell as bad, doesn’t get stuck to stuff when dried as easily, and doesn’t even dry out as quickly.  Just a few minutes and a few basic ingredients, and you can have four good-sized lumps of homemade play-dough (about as much as 4 cans of the store-bought stuff).  You can also opt out of adding color if your kid won’t know the difference, and you don’t care one way or the other.  I found the recipe here:  http://musingsfromasahm.com/2012/02/easy-homemade-playdough-recipe/.  I altered it just a bit when adding the food coloring, so I will give you my instructions.

**************************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/3 cup salt
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • food coloring

Directions:

  1. Mix all the ingredient, except the food coloring, in a 2 quart saucepan.
  2. Cook over low/medium heat, stirring until the mixture begins to thicken and gather around the spoon.
  3. Remove dough to wax paper or a plate to cool.
  4. Divide into quarters.  Shape lumps of dough into little bowls.
  5. Add several drops of food coloring into the little bowls.  Knead the coloring into the dough until it is well mixed.
  6. Allow dough to finish cooling, and play!
My niece Shaylynn playing with homemade play dough.

My niece Shaylynn playing with homemade play dough.

Leave a comment

Filed under This and That

Leave a Reply

