Microwave Popcorn

microwave popcorn 1

Oooh, popcorn!  Ya gotta love it!  It’s the perfect snack for watching movies and ball games, eating at sleep-overs, and munching on while star-gazing.  It’s one of America’s oldest snacks; if I remember my history correctly, even the Native Americans ate popcorn.  It ranks right up there with baseball and apple pie when you’re listing American classic icons.

Call me biased, but nobody makes stovetop popcorn as good as my daddy, step-mom, and step-sister.  They just know exactly how much butter, oil, and kernels to put in the pan and just how long to let it pop.  Try as I might (and I have), I’m just not nearly as talented at it.  Not to mention, I currently don’t have a good pan for popping popcorn.  I’ve tried several kinds of microwave popcorn, searching for some that tastes like it was popped on the stovetop but to no avail.  There just isn’t any out there.  I will say that the closest I found, which is still good stuff, was some Orville Redenbacher Natural Simply Salted popcorn, but it’s pretty expensive, as you can imagine.

Well, have no fear, my fellow popcorn lovers!  I have discovered a simple way to make your own natural simply salted microwave popcorn for pennies.  Just buy a bag of popcorn kernels, a package of brown paper sacks, and some butter.  Using a small amount of parchment paper is optional.  Trust me, it’s simple, tasty, and economical.

*********************************

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup popcorn kernels
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • salt to taste

Directions:

  1. If you’re using parchment paper, line the paper sack with it.
  2. Drop a dollop (approximately 1 tablespoon) of butter in the sack.
  3. Pour in 1/4 cup popcorn kernels.
  4. Turn down the top of the sack two or three times.
  5. Place in microwave.
  6. Press the popcorn button, if you have one, or cook on high for about two minutes or two minutes, ten seconds.
  7. Carefully empty into a bowl and salt to taste.
  8. Enjoy!

microwave popcorn 2

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Microwave Popcorn

  1. Maybe you’d be interesting in trying a few other flavors? Vinny has some ideas! http://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/pop-a-little-corn-the-bertie-bott-way/

Leave a Reply

