Love Blossoms

love blossoms

As we all know, Valentine’s Day was yesterday, and in honor of this holiday, I made these little two-bite cookies that I have dubbed “Love Blossoms.”  I’m sure we’ve all seen the same kind of cookie with kisses, but on Pinterest, I saw an idea to use heart-shaped chocolates.  I had coupon for heart-shaped chocolates, so that’s what I used.  They are cute as a button, simple to make, and sweet to give to your special Valentine.

The recipe I used can be found at www.hersheyskisses.com.  I just used Dove chocolates instead of Hershey Kisses, and I forgot one little step.  I hope you enjoy these little love blossoms!

*********************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 34-36 Dove chocolate hearts
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • Granulated sugar*

Directions:

  1. Remove wrappers from chocolates.
  2. In a large bowl, beat shortening and peanut butter until well blended.
  3. Add 1/3 cup sugar and brown sugar.  Beat until fluffy.
  4. Add egg, milk, and vanilla; beat well.
  5. In a small bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, and salt.
  6. Gradually beat flour mixture into peanut butter mixture.
  7. Shape dough into 1-inch balls.
  8. Roll in sugar.*
  9. Place on ungreased baking sheet.
  10. Bake 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned at 375-degrees.  (I baked at 350-degrees because my oven cooks hot.  Just know your oven.)
  11. Remove from oven, and immediately press a chocolate into the center of each cookie.  Cookies will crack around the edges.
  12. Cool completely on a wire rack.  The chocolates will become melty when you press them into cookie, but they will reharden in the correct shape if left alone to cool.
  13. Enjoy with your special someone, and let your love blossom!  😀

*Note:  I forgot to roll my cookies in sugar and everything turned out fine.  It’s up to you whether you do it or not.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

