Cream Cheese Chicken Taquitos

cream cheese chicken taquitos

Church potlucks are a great time for me to make something new that I normally don’t make at home.  Church fellowships are also good for spending time with brothers and sisters in Christ, uplifting and encouraging one another over a plate of good food.  At our last church potluck, I made these yummy little finger foods.  I was able to get a dozen whole taquitos from the recipe, and when I put them out for the potluck, I cut them in half.  I ate one of those halves at the potluck.  I brought home an empty pan.  I liked them, and I think it’s safe to say that others liked them, too.

The orginal recipe for these taquitos can be found at http://www.cinnamonspiceandeverythingnice.com/chubby-chicken-and-cream-cheese-taquitos/.  I, however, didn’t have all the ingredients on hand, so mine turned out a little bit different.  As always, I will post what I made, but you’re more than welcome to try the other recipe if you prefer.

=======================================================

Ingredients:

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, boiled and shredded
  • 6 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup salsa (I didn’t have salsa, so I used some rotel and added some diced tomatoes and a chopped jalapeno.  I chopped it up in a food chopper to make a “sorta-salsa.”)
  • about 1 1/2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 9-12 fajita style (6 inch) flour tortillas
  • oil for frying

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix together chicken, cream cheese, sour cream, “salsa,” shredded cheese, salt, and pepper.  Mix until ingredients are evenly distributed.
  2. Place about 2 tablespoons of the filling along the center of a tortilla, like a log.
  3. Roll up and set seam side down on a plate.
  4. Repeat until all the filling is used.
  5. Add enough oil to a large skillet to generously cover the bottom.  Heat on medium heat.
  6. Cook tortillas in batches, until golden brown on each side.  (I did three at a time.)
  7. Drain on paper towels.
  8. Serve!

Dipping Sauce Ideas:

  • Sour cream
  • Guacamole
  • Salsa
  • Taco sauce
  • Ranch dressing
  • Chipolte sauce
  • Cheese dip

*Or just eat them plain.  That’s how I served them at the potluck, and they were still good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

