Chocolate Gravy

chocolate gravy

Oh, warm biscuits and chocolate gravy…..If you haven’t had it, you haven’t lived.  I’m sorry; it’s just the plain truth.  Growing up, I had chocolate gravy on occassion from my mom and my step-mom.  Personally, I always liked my mom’s recipe better (not that your’s isn’t good, Deanie), but that’s a moot point because I don’t know either of their recipes, which means I’ve been chocolate gravy deprived for several sad years (because as previously discussed, life without chocolate gravy now and then just isn’t really living).  [You do know I’m exaggerating, right?  But only by a hair.] Anyway, back to my lack of a recipe….Fast forward to my discovery of Pinterest.  Thanks to this rather incredible site (Seriously, it’s almost like having a pictorial index for the internet!), I now have a delicious recipe for this decadent breakfast sauce.  You can find the original recipe here:  http://varmintbites.com/2007/10/21/chocolate-gravy-yes-chocolate-gravy/.  I, however, didn’t use the actual recipe from the site.  Some previous pinner had quoted the ingredients on the comment line of the pin on Pinterest, and I wrote that down and went from there on my own, which may make a tad bit of difference in the outcome of the gravy.  Whether it did or not, doesn’t really matter, though, because I thought this gravy was wonderful!

Now, I guess you can put chocolate gravy on lots of stuff, but nothing beats warm biscuits fresh from the oven.  Several in my family add a dollop of butter on top of the gravy, which is generously covering the palm-size biscuits, and it’s always washed down with a tall glass of cold milk!  Mmmmm!  My dad would say something along the lines of “That’ll make your tongue slap your teeth out of your mouth trying to get to it!”  By the way, if you need a good biscuit recipe, I can personally vouch for this one:  https://crystalpoe.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/biscuits/.  😉

That’s enough tantalizing.  Here’s the recipe!

****************************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 5 tbsp. butter
  • 3 tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, melt butter over high to medium heat.
  2. While you wait, mix together the flour, cocoa powder, and sugar in a small mixing bowl until well combined.
  3. Add milk and vanilla to melted butter.  Whisk well.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the liquid ingredients, whisking constantly as you pour it in.
  5. Continue to whisk the gravy until it thickens.  This will only take a minute or two.
  6. Remove from heat immediately, and serve warm!
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

