Oatmeal Cream Pies

oatmeal cream pies

I’m pretty sure most of us Americans have had Oatmeal Cream Pies from the Little Debbie company.  I know it’s one of my daddy’s favorite Little Debbie cookies.  Well, here’s the homemade version.  And you know homemade is always better.

My step-mom found this recipe somewhere on the World Wide Web a few weeks ago and made them for my daddy, who declared them as good as the Little Debbie cookies.  Well, when I asked My Honey what I should make to thank his office for their generous gift for Connor, he suggested I make these.  (He’s been wanting to try them ever since Deanie sent the recipe to me.)  So, that’s exactly what I did, and now I will share the recipe with you!

****************************************************************************

Ingredients:

Cookie:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp. molasses
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 (heaping) tsp. baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups quick oats

Cream Filling:

  • 2 tsp. very hot water
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 (7 oz.) jar marshmallow cream
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350-degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter, sugars, molasses, vanilla, and eggs.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.
  4. Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture, and stir to combine; mix in oats.
  5. Drop tablespoon sized scoops onto the cookie sheet, and bake for 10-12 minutes, until just starting to brown around the edges.  Be careful not to overbake them.  They will look moist.  Also, try not to get them too big.
  6. While the cookies are baking, in a small bowl, dissolve the salt in the hot water and allow to cool to room temperature.
  7. Combine the marshmallow cream, shortening, powdered sugar, and vanilla.  Mix on high until fluffy.
  8. Add the salt water, and mix well.
  9. Spread the filling onto the flat side of the cookie, and top with another cookie.
  10. Enjoy!

***************************************************************

This is my 100th post! Whoo-hoo!

6 Comments

Filed under Food

6 responses to “Oatmeal Cream Pies

  1. We are going to start calling you Grace because you are so amazing. What a happy little homemaker, Momma you are.

    • I don’t know about amazing. LOL! It took me most of the afternoon and evening to make these, the cheese ball, and supper. I wouldn’t have gotten it done if Nicholas hadn’t held and fed Connor in the evening. Thank you!

  2. Definitely on my list of bakes! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I recently made a soup shot and would love to know what you think. Please drop by space when you have the time! See ya!

  3. Deanie

    Well, did you and Nic like them?

Leave a Reply

