Cheese Ball

Hello!  It’s been awhile since I posted anything.  My little blessing is two weeks old today, and we have been busy around here learning all sorts of new things.  Connor is growing and growing.  Most recently, he has begun to stretch his legs out more and sleep with his arms up around his head.  The stump of his umbilical cord fell off early this morning, and he will soon be moving into size 1 diapers.  I love my little man and still find it hard to believe that God blessed Nicholas and I with him.

However, somewhere between recovering from surgery and learning how to take care of a baby 24 hours a day, other things have gone on the back burner, such as cooking.  It’s only been in the past few days that I have actually started to do any kind of cooking, and most of that has been incredibly simple quick meals:  spaghetti, for example.  But then, my husband’s co-workers pooled money together and bought us nearly 3 months worth of baby formula and sent us flowers at the hospital, and that must be thanked properly.  Therefore, today, I got back in the kitchen for some “real” cooking, and I made his office a cheese ball and homemade Oatmeal Cream Pies.  This post will be about the cheese ball, obviously.

Now, let me warn you, unless you have a good stand mixer, it is much easier to use your hands to make this particular appetizer, which means you will get messy.  You can wear gloves if you want, but that’s up to you.

**********************************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 2 pkg. (regular size) cream cheese (at room temp.)
  • 6 oz. finely shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 envelope ranch dressing mix
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, whip cream cheese.
  2. Add ranch dressing mix and cheddar cheese.  Mix until evenly distributed.
  3. Shape into a ball or log.
  4. Spread pecans on a piece of parchment paper.  Roll cheese ball in pecans until entire surface is covered.
  5. Serve with summer sausage and crackers.

*******************************************************************

P.S.  Please excuse the plastic wrap around the cheese ball in the picture.  I forgot to take a picture before I wrapped it, and I was too lazy to take it off for the picture later.  Not to mention I didn’t want to mess with putting all the little summer sausage pieces and crackers around it either.  I’m sorry.  Being a mama has apparently made me lazy.  😀

P.P.S.  This recipe is not a Crystal original.  It is from my step-mom’s sister Faye K.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Pregnancy and Baby

Leave a Reply

