My Dear And Loving Husband

My Honey in May on our vacation to Biloxi, MS.

I have often written about how my husband is a bit of a picky eater, and I have mentioned him a few other times as well.  However, I want to take some time to really just brag on this wonderful man that God has brought into my life.  His name, if you don’t know, is Nicholas.  He’s a couple of years younger than me, works full-time as a manufacturing engineer, is a wiz at math, for the most part, lets me do my thing without interruption or complaint, and he loves me and our unborn son dearly.

This past Sunday, I started to come down with a cold, and for the past several days, I have swung between feeling yucky and feeling fine, being drop-dead tired and having spurts of energy.  I have a hard time sleeping, due to my ever-growing belly and bathroom runs, and when I do wake up in the mornings, breathing is fun, thanks to the cold.  Well, this morning, Nicholas got up at about 5:30 to get ready for work.  (Did I mention that he almost always wakes up before the alarm so that it doesn’t wake me up, too?)  I did wake up (only because I’m not sleeping as deeply as normal thanks to discomfort) when he did, but I stayed in bed until six.  I groggily got out of bed, grabbed my pillow, and shuffled to the living room where Nicholas was eating cereal and playing video games.  Well, first he pauses his game, then scoots over on the couch to let me sit down, too.  I curl up on the cushion beside him while he continues to play his game.  Sitting up on the couch helped my congestion some, and I soon started to fall asleep.  I decided to go back to bed.  Nicholas paused his game again, and walked me to bed.  Then he covered me up, tucked me in, kissed me, and rubbed my back before leaving the room.

That was just this morning before he left for work.  Almost every evening, he helps me get ready for supper by setting the table, sometimes doing some cooking, and afterwards he helps with the dishes.  He is patient with me when I’m upset and moody.  He helps me when I don’t feel well.  He holds me when I’m tired or sad.  He doesn’t get angry when I don’t get everything done around the house as fast as I should.  He explains things when I don’t understand them – or at least tries; I can be quite a dunce sometimes.  He even lets me hold the remote control for the TV because my hearing is tempermental.

I love my husband, and I thank God for him.  It is a wonderful thing to have such an amazing husband!

I love you, my honey!

******************************************

The title of this post is from Anne Bradstreet’s poem “To My Dear And Loving Husband.”  It’s one of my favorites, so I will copy it here.  (Copied and pasted from http://www.vcu.edu/engweb/webtexts/Bradstreet/bradhyp.htm.  There should not be a space between the 3rd and 4th lines, but I can’t seem to fix it.)

If ever two were one, then surely we.
If ever man were loved by wife, then thee;
If ever wife was happy in a man,

Compare with me, ye women, if you can.
I prize thy love more than whole mines of gold
Or all the riches that the East doth hold.
My love is such that rivers cannot quench,
Nor ought but love from thee, give recompense.
Thy love is such I can no way repay,
The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.
Then while we live, in love let’s so persevere.
That when we live no more, we may live ever.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry, This and That

2 responses to “My Dear And Loving Husband

  1. That is so sweet. We feel you were made for each other. One compliments the other. God bless and love both of you.

  2. Dawn English

    So sweet, both of you

Leave a Reply

