Busy, Busy, Busy Getting Ready For the Baby

Hello!  I just thought you should know, I have not fallen off the planet.  I am still here, and there is more of me everyday – at least more of my belly.  Connor is still cooking, and he has about 6 weeks left to bake.  The doctor insists that everything is “perfect” or “looking good,” which works for me.  We are right on track with no complications or worries at this point.  Praise the Lord!

September through December is always a busy time of year for me, and this year is no exception, unless to say it’s busier than normal.  There are lots of birthdays, lots of holidays, and just lots of other extra stuff, too, such as a family reunion and Christmas shopping.  This year also includeds lots of doctor appointments, a mini-job, final baby preparations, and a big Chili Supper that Nic and I are hosting for our church.  Oh, and that little thing in November – giving birth to Connor.

The past few weeks have been filled with completing the baby bed project, which, apart from the bumper pad and skirt, I am proud to say, I finished just two days ago.  It has been sanded, primed, painted, and peiced together.  It is in it’s designated spot in the nursery, ready and waiting for an occupant.  I am also proud to say that if you include all the painting and sanding supplies and the few pieces of hardware that needed replaced, we spent less than $100 on the baby bed.  It was a lot of work, but we now have a one-of-a-kind baby bed for Connor.

This past Sunday, we also had a surprise baby shower, hosted by my sister Dawn with the help of our mama and grandma.  It was really nice.  We got several articles of winter clothing for the little guy, some diapers, and few other odds and ends that we were needing.  Not to mention, this past Saturday, Nic’s parents Ed and Erin showed up with a brand new Cracker Barrel rocking chair!  It’s just so exciting.  I have been busy washing baby clothes, sheets,  and blankets, finishing the bed, and arranging the room.

I also spent several afternoons making a quilt for Connor.  Miss Sandy from church invited me over to her house to make it, and we got it done in about four afternoons, since it is a small quilt and we used sewing machines.  I must say, it’s not perfect, but I am proud of it.  It reminds me of a quilt that we had growing up.  We used a pattern called “Brick Road.”  It’s a simple pattern, but it looks like a good quilt for a little boy.  What’s really great about it is that it’s bigger than the average baby quilt and can be used as a throw blanket, even when he’s all grown up.  I’ve used it as one a few times myself.  😀

With all this activity, I have neglected this little blog, but I do have a few ideas for posts in mind.  Hopefully, I will be able to post a few things over the next few days.

Later, gators!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

The nursery so far

the quilt

My Papa Arlin and nieces (his great-grand-daughters) Shaylynn and Zoila at a family reunion earlier this fall.

Surprise shower, hosted by Dawn

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Baby, This and That

Leave a Reply

