Dinner Rolls

There is a reason why so many family restaurants serve endless rolls to their customers:  People love fresh, warm rolls to munch on with their supper and as an appetizer.  Rolls are so soft and fluffy on the inside, crusty on the outside, and warm.  The scent of fresh bread reminds of good things.  Mmmm!

It’s been awhile since I made fresh bread (thanks to the record heat this summer), and I have been wanting to do some baking lately.  I thought about doing biscuits, but decided that it since it wasn’t as hot today, that I would do rolls to go with supper.  It will be a nice surprise for my husband.  He’s a big fan of rolls.  His mama makes some really good ones!  This isn’t her recipe, but it’s not a bad one.  It came from my Better Homes and Gardens Our Best Recipes cook book.  I have apparently made it before, but it must have been awhile because I don’t remember it.  Anyway, I know I’ve made it before because there are little spatter spots on the page.  Being a book-lover, I’m always extra careful with books, but I feel like a cook book is kinda like a Bible:  The used ones are well broke-in with bent pages, writing and highlighting, and (for cook books) batter splatters.  So, if you have a cook book that is falling apart and messy, be proud that you use it.  I hope you got duck tape on your Bible, too.  That’s even more important than a well-used cook book.  😉

Anyway, you’re waiting for the roll recipe, so I won’t keep any longer.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/4 to 3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 pkg. active dry yeast
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter or shortening (I used butter.)
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, stir together 1 1/4 cups of the flour and the yeast.
  2. In a medium saucepan, heat and stir milk, sugar, butter, and salt just until warm (120-130 degrees) and butter almost melts.
  3. Beat egg with a fork.
  4. Add milk mixture to flour mixture along with egg.  Beat with an electric mixer on low to medium speed for about 30 seconds, scraping the sides of the bowl constantly.  Beat on high speed for 3 minutes.
  5. Using a wooden spoon, stir in as much of the remaining flour as you can.
  6. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface.
  7. Knead in enough of the remaining flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic (6-8 minutes total).
  8. Shape dough into a ball.
  9. Place in a lightly greased bowl, turning dough once to grease surface.  Cover; let rise in a warm place until double in size (about 1 hour).
  10. Punch down dough.  Turn out onto a lightly floured surface.
  11. Divide dough in half.  Cover; let rest for 10 minutes.
  12. Meanwhile, lightly grease a 13 x 9 x 2 inch baking pan.*
  13. Shape dough into 24 balls.  Place balls in prepared pan.
  14. Cover and let rise until nearly double in size (about 30 minutes).
  15. Preheat oven to 375-degrees.  Bake for 15-18 minutes or until rolls sound hollow when lightly tapped.
  16. Immediately remove rolls from pan.  Cool on wire racks.

*Note:  I used a 9 x 13 pan and a 9-inch quiche pan.  I only got 15 rolls in the 9 x 13 pan.

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “Dinner Rolls

  1. Well guess who gets to bring rolls to Thanksgiving Dinner this year?

  2. I take time to.write my recipes down on index recipe cards if I like the recipe. It keeps the damage down in the cook book. My cards take a beating instead of my cook books. I am a messy cook. It also.makes it easy.to.find the recipe in a hurry. I forget sometimes which book it is in. Lovely rolls. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe! =)

Leave a Reply

