Old-Fashioned Basic Cream Pie

As much as I enjoy cooking, it is always nice to have recipes that are easy to whip up and that require just a few ingredients.  This recipe is one of them.  It’s a recipe I learned from my daddy and step-mom as I was growing up.  My daddy and I even have an on-going “argument” about what this particular dessert is called.  I always called it “cheesecake,” but he insists it’s called “cream pie.”  Because I’m a little older and know more about foods than I once did, I do realize that this is not a cheesecake (You don’t bake it.), but for old time’s sake, I still will call it that, at least when I’m talking to Daddy.  For the sake of you knowing what you’re getting into, however, I will call it a cream pie because to be honest, that’s what it is.  I love you, Daddy!  😀

Anyway, as I was saying, this is a very easy recipe, though, it does require several hours in the fridge to get it chilled.  And now, without further ado, I shall impart the recipe to you.  Enjoy!

##########################################

Ingredients:

  • 3 pkg. cream cheese
  • 2 cans sweetened condensed milk (Eagle Brand Milk, as you may know it)
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • Graham cracker crust

Crust Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 sleeves crackers
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Beat the cream cheese in a large bowl until creamy.
  2. Add sweetened condensed milk and lemon juice and mix well.
  3. Pour into 9×13 baking dish with crust.
  4. Chill for several hours or overnight.

Crust Directions:

  1. Finely crush graham crackers.  Dump crumbs into a 9×13 baking dish and make a well.
  2. Melt butter in microwave.
  3. Pour butter into well of crumbs.
  4. Mix with hands to moisten all the crumbs and press the crust onto bottom and sides of baking dish.
  5. Place in freezer to harden while you mix the pie filling.

Topping Ideas:

  • Fruit pie filling (cherry, blueberry, etc.)
  • Oreo crumbs
  • Anything else that suits your fancy
2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Old-Fashioned Basic Cream Pie

  1. Yummy…it is a variation of lemon ice box cream pie. Same ingredients just larger amounts to fill a 9 x 13 pan instead of a standard pie. Some of my very old cookbooks from the middle of the century has this recipe. Nice summer treat.

  2. Thank you for the follow. I hope I don’t disappoint you with my recipes.

Leave a Reply

