Cinnamon Rolls

I don’t think I know anyone who does not like a warm, gooey, sweet cinnamon roll.  I have made cinnamon rolls a few times and have found a roll recipe that I like, but an icing recipe has eluded me.  However, thanks to my friend Amy Kinnard and her blog Are We There Yet, I think I may have finally found a good one.

My darling husband really enjoys a good cinnamon roll, so as a surprise for him today, I decided to make a batch.  He needs a surprise every so often, and I enjoy the chance to play in the kitchen.  (Not to mention, when I make him cinnamon rolls, I get to eat some, too.)  Now, this particular recipe calls for 7 to 7 1/2  CUPS of flour, so you can only imagine how many rolls that makes.  What I do is divide the dough ball into two parts.  I make make two roll logs, wrap one up really well in plastic wrap and foil and freeze it, and cut the second log up into rolls to bake.  Then, when I want to make the second log, I let it thaw, cut the rolls, rise the rolls, and bake.  I was able to make 25 rolls from the first log.  The second log was a bit shorter than the first, but it’s safe to say that when I do cook it, I will get at least a 15-20 rolls.  That’s 40-45 rolls from one recipe.

I got this recipe from my Grandma C., and she got it from her favorite cook book.  I believe it’s a Betty Crocker book, and she recieved as a wedding gift in (I think) 1957.  The dough is a sweet roll dough and can be used with other recipes, such as babka breads and other dessert/breakfast breads.

69696969696969696969696969696969696969696969696969696

Ingredients:

(Rolls)

  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 2 pkg. active dry yeast (I buy yeast in a jar, and it was 4 1/2 tsp. to equal 2 pkg.)
  • 1 1/2 cup lukewarm milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 7 to 7 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

(Filling)

  • 2 tbsp. softened butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon

(Icing – enough for 12 rolls)

  • 4 T. softened butter
  • 3 tsp. flour
  • ½ C. powdered sugar
  • ¼–1/2  tsp. vanilla

Directions:

(To make rolls)

  1. In a large bowl, dissolve water and yeast.
  2. Stir in (or whisk) milk, sugar, salt, and eggs.
  3. Add shortening and about 3 1/2 cups flour.  Mix until smooth using a mixer with dough hooks or a pastry maker and a spoon.
  4. Add enough remaining flour to handle easily; mix by hand.  (I did this on the counter and ended up using a total of 7 cups of flour for these rolls.
  5. Knead until smooth and elastic (about 5 minutes.)
  6. Round up in a greased bowl, greased side of dough up.
  7. Cover with a damp cloth.  Let rise in a warm place (about 85-degrees) until double (about 1 1/2 hours).
  8. Punch down.  Divide dough ball in two.
  9. Roll out oblong (rectangular).
  10. Spread butter on dough.  Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.
  11. Roll dough up tightly, beginning at the wide side.  Seal well by pinching edges together.  This should look like a log.
  12. Stretch log slightly to even it out.
  13. Cut log into individual rolls about 1-inch thick.
  14. Place rolls a little apart in greased 9×13 pan or greased muffin cups.
  15. Cover and let rise until double in bulk (about 35-40 minutes).
  16. Bake in a 375-degree oven about 25-30 minutes or until golden brown.
  17. While slightly warm, frost with icing.
  18. Make the second log and prepare to cook or freeze, depending how many rolls you need.

(To make icing)

  1. In a small bowl, beat ingredients together until smooth.
  2. Spread onto rolls while they are still warm.

The second cinnamon roll “log” ready for the freezer. I wrapped it twice in plastic wrap, once in foil, and taped the edge of the foil down with masking tape.

6969696969696969696969696969696969696969696969696969696

Link to Amy Kinnard’s blog:  http://thekinnardfamily.wordpress.com/

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Sweet Roll Dough | Following Footprints

Leave a Reply

