Oatmeal-Cinnamon Bath Soak

My mother-in-law’s birthday is coming up soon, and I’ve been trying to think of something to get for her.  Being a little short on cash at the moment, I knew it would be better if it were something I could make.  Though I do a lot of baking and some writing, I’m not real experienced in other form of creativity.  After some thinking and checking outPinterest, I figured I could manage to make a simple bath soak, so that’s exactly what I did.

I copied a few simple soak recipes and decided to make the oatmeal-cinnamon bath soak.  I got this particular recipe from http://tipnut.com/5-homemade-bath-salts-soaks/.  There are recipes for bath soaks, salts, and bubbles, and many other bath and body recipes on this site, if you are interested in making a few things yourself.

This recipe is very safe; all the ingredients are edible!  And it’s wonderfully simple to do!  Great stuff for beginners.  This particular soak has oatmeal, which makes your skin feel silky smooth and the cinnamon smells lovely.  I was starting to crave cinnamon rolls while making it.  😀  Trust me, you’ll like it.

**************************************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered milk
  • 3/4 cup baking soda
  • 3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 3 TBS cornstarch
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, finely grind up the oatmeal.  Using the pulse feature will help to grind it all evenly.
  2. Add remaining ingredients.
  3. Using pulse feature, mix ingredients well.
  4. Store in either a plastic airtight container or in a pretty wide-mouth glass jar.
  5. Use as much or as little as you wish, but 1/4 to 1/2 cup should be plenty.
  6. To give as a gift, put in a jar, print or make a lable, and tie a ribbon around the jar.
Leave a comment

Filed under This and That

Leave a Reply

