Baby Bed Fun

Since we are expecting a baby, we must prepare for him.  My kind sister told me I could have the crib she used for my oldest niece.  Our mom had bought it for her from a flea market, and after Dawn used it, she stored it in a storage unit.  As you can imagine, it had gotten some wear by the time I got to it, so I decided to refinish it.  This has become a summer project.  I am 20 weeks today, so there’s still plenty of time to finish it.

Well, to refinish something, you must first take it apart and remove the hardware, which I’ve done.  The next step is to strip it of the original paint, varnish, and/or stain.  The best way to do this is through sanding, especially if you’re dealing with varnish and stain, which I am.

As you can imagine, sanding is a messy step, involving A LOT of dust.  Being pregnant, I’m constantly fighting with my nose and sinuses as it is, so today, I decided to tie a bandana around my nose and mouth to keep some of that dust out of my nose and throat.  My dear husband thought it was a funny sight, and I gave him permission to take some pictures.  This is his favorite.  Watch out for the “sanding bandit!”  (Crazy as I may look, my bandana worked.)

Once I get all the original varnish and stain off, I have to go back over all the pieces with a finer sandpaper to smooth it all out.  Then on to the staining.  A couple of coats of that and a couple of coats of varnish, and and the baby bed should be ready to piece back together.  Buy a mattress and some bedding, and it will be ready for our little boy!

P.S.  Thank you, John Wayne and the other cowboys from the numerous Westerns I’ve watched over my life for teaching me the many uses of bandanas.  😀

1 Comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Baby

One response to “Baby Bed Fun

  1. Pingback: Baby Bed Fun Part 2 | Following Footprints

Leave a Reply

