Sugar Butter Cookies

There are very few people who do not enjoy a classic sugar cookie.  I enjoy them, my husband does, and, after yesterday afternoon, I believe it’s safe to say my church family enjoys them.

My husband takes his lunch at least 4 out of 5 days to work.  I always try to have some cookies made to send with him.  He had just finished up some chocolate chip cookies last week, so it was cookie-making time.  He requested plain and simple sugar cookies.  I’ve got several cook books, so I also have many, many sugar cookie recipes to choose from.  I have one that’s good for cut-out cookies that are fun to make around Christmas with icing and sprinkles, but this one is more of a drop cookie.  It’s a very simple recipe that makes a dough too thin for rolling and cutting out.  You just make a small dough ball for each cookie, roll it around in some sugar, place on a cookie sheet, flatten, and bake.

Though I try not to brag, I have to admit these cookies are super soft, sweet, just plain yummy!  I had several compliments on these cookies from church members yesterday.  I will say, though, the key to soft cookies is not cooking them too long.  Also, if you have an electric oven, you may find it helpful to turn the oven down 25-degrees, raise the rack to one notch above center, and watch them closely the last couple of minutes.  Just a few helpful hints that I’ve learned (the hard way).

Now, I did not come up with this recipe on my own.  I’m not sure where it came from, but chances are good that it’s from the back of a sugar bag.  Well, I won’t keep you in suspense any longer; here’s the recipe!

*********************************************************************

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, room-temperature
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1 scant tsp. salt
  • 1 cup oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. Beat butter, powdered sugar, and granulated sugar in a large mixing bowl.  Mix it well so that the butter clumps back together.
  2. Add eggs.  Beat well.
  3. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt.  Add to butter-sugar mixture alternately with oil.  (I did this in quarters:  1/4 of flour mixture, 1/4 oil, 1/4 flour mixture, 1/4 oil, etc.)
  4. Add vanilla.
  5. Chill dough (30 minutes-1 hour)
  6. Form dough into little balls, roll in granulated sugar, and mash out with the end of a glass or with tines of a fork.
  7. Bake 10 minutes at 350-degrees.
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

