Upside-Down Pizza Casserole

I told you a few days ago that my darling husband does not like casseroles.  Wouldn’t you know it, he went and made a liar out of me.  😀

Every now and then I get really brave and dig around to find some new something or other to try out on My Honey, just for experiment’s sake.  I get bored making the same ol’, same ol’.  I found this particular recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens Our Best Recipes cook book.  It’s called an Upside-Down Pizza Casserole.  It’s incredibly simple to make, as adjustable as any pizza, and it tastes pretty good.  It may not rank as my top favorite food in the world, but it sure isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever tried either.  And the best part is, My Honey deemed it good.  He even ate four biscuit servings!

I do have to say that it doesn’t really taste all that much like pizza, but it does manage to be similar to a very simple spaghetti or lasagna recipe.  One of the great things about it, too, is that you can change it up however you feel like.  Prefer sausage over beef, change it; want mushrooms and bell peppers, put ’em in there; would rather have cheddar over mozzarella, go for it!  It’s a casserole that’s as flavorful and creative as you are.  And here is the basic recipe to get you started.

###################################################

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs. lean ground beef
  • 1 (15 oz.) can Italian-style tomato sauce*
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese (6 oz.)
  • 1 (10 oz.) pkg. refrigerated biscuits (10 biscuits)**

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400-degrees.  In a large skillet, cook ground beef until brown.  Drain off fat.  Stir in tomato sauce; heat through.  Transfer to an ungreased 2-quart rectangle baking dish.  Sprinkle with cheese.
  2. Flatten each biscuit with hands; arrange the biscuits on top of cheese.  Bake about 15 minutes or until biscuits are golden.  Makes 10 servings.

Notes

*I didn’t have any Italian-style tomato sauce, so I used a can of plain sauce and added some garlic powder, onion powder, and Italian seasoning to it.

**I also didn’t have any canned biscuits, so I quickly whipped up a batch of baking powder biscuits.  The recipe can be found here:  https://crystalpoe.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/biscuits/.  I used more than 10 biscuits, but I made them a little smaller than normal.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Upside-Down Pizza Casserole

Leave a Reply

