Tuna Fish Casserole

Tuna fish casserole has always been a favorite dish of mine, mostly because of the tuna.  I am known to eat tuna straight out of the can.  Sometimes I will eat it with crackers and maybe even cheese.  Of course, I also like tuna salad with mayo and mustard and pickles and boiled eggs, eaten as a sandwich.  Now I know that being pregnant I’m not supposed to eat tuna, but I have done my research and have discovered that if I eat just a little on a rare occassion, then all is well.  News that makes me quite happy!

I learned how to make tuna fish casserole from my step-mom.  We had this on a fairly regular basis when I was growing up.  Now that I’m on my own and married, I don’t get this wonderful dish nearly as often because as you might imagine, my husband does not like tuna or casseroles.  However, last night I decided it was time to bring out this old favorite.  I fixed My Honey some shake and bake chicken and me a tuna fish casserole.  We were both happy.

I made up the recipe as I went along from memory.  Mine was a little dry and didn’t have nearly as many green vegetables in it as my step-mom’s, but it was good.  My step-mom always used left-over vegetables, but since I didn’t really have any, I used a can of mixed vegetables.  You can do it either way, or you can do frozen mixed vegetables, which are probably a little healthier, to be honest.  Now that we got that cleared up, though, I will give you the recipe.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups dry elbow noodles
  • 3 cups water
  • 2/3 – 1 can (10.5 oz.) cream of mushroom soup (You can switch this out for you favorite flavor:  cream of celery, chicken, whatever.)
  • 1 can (15 oz.) mixed vegetables (If you leave the juices in, your casserole won’t be quite as dry.)
  • 2 cans (5 oz.) tuna, drained
  • 1 tsp. parsley flakes
  • 2 tsp. onion powder
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • sliced Velveeta cheese (If you prefer to use your favorite shredded cheese or American cheese, that’s fine, too.)

Directions:

  1. Cook the noodles in the water until they are about half done (al dente).
  2. Mix tuna, vegetables, soup, and seasonings in a large bowl.
  3. Add cooked, rinsed noodles to mixture.
  4. Pour mixture into a glass baking dish. (I used an 8×11.)
  5. Top with sliced cheese.
  6. Cover with foil and bake at 350-degrees till casserole is bubbly and cheese is melted, about 30 minutes.
  7. Serve!

Possible sides:

  • Cornbread
  • Fresh bread
  • Rolls
  • A vegetable that’s not already in the casserole.
  • Favorite potato side
4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “Tuna Fish Casserole

  1. linfs

    I make mine with canned green peas instead of mixed veggies. It might be interesting to try like yours. Plus I put cheese in it not on top. I always crushed up crackers and put on top. So thanks for this interesting way to make tuna casserole. Always was my favorite dish, but not the boys in my family J and E.

    • My step-mom’s always had a lot of peas in it, along with corn, green beans, just whatever was in the fridge/cabinet (sometimes crowder peas, too). I like it with peas. Sadly, my can of mixed vegetables had about 2 peas in it. Cheese in it and crackers on top would be good, too, especially if they’re Ritz crackers. I’ve had a chicken noodle casserole that had cheese mixed in and crackers on top…Delicious! If I ever get a chance to make it (Nic doesn’t like it.), I will put the recipe on here.

  2. chocohelena

    I am drooling now. This dish is visually pleasing! I will definitely try to cook this too. Thanks for sharing.

    By the way, if you have time, please like this page or take a look at the recipes too: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Recipes-for-Food/148457685283878

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

