Banana Raisin Bread

It’s the time of year when fresh fruits and vegetables at the store are in abundance.  I have been buying quite a bit of fresh fruits and vegetables myself, recently.  Apples, pears, strawberries, potatos, tomatos, corn on the cob, lettuce, and bananas.  Last week, I bought a bunch of bananas and ate all but two of them.  Those last two, of course, did what bananas do well:  turn brown, mostly.  I didn’t want to eat over-ripe bananas, and I needed to cook something for church.  So what can you do with two over-ripe bananas?  Banana Nut Bread!  It seemed the perfect solution, except I didn’t have any nuts.  Enter the raisin!  And ta-da; you have Banana Raisin Bread!

I don’t remember making this bread since I was a little bitty girl making it with my Aunt Peggy and my sister Dawn.  This meant I had to bring out my handy-dandy Better Homes and Gardens Quick Breads Cook Book.  (I love my 36-year old cook book.  :D)  And there it was on page 23, a recipe for Banana Nut Bread.  All I had to do was substitute the chopped walnuts for raisins, and I had exactly what I needed.

Before you get scared, let me assure you that Banana Nut/Raisin Bread does NOT need to rise.  It is not a yeast bread.  It uses baking powder and soda as levening agents, so it’s quick and easy to make.  Also, this recipe calls for ripe bananas, but this bread does taste better – yes, better – if you use bananas that have begun to turn brown, in other words, over-ripe.  Not rotten, just over-ripe.  That way you don’t have to waste your bananas.  And a hint for your banana peels:  put them on the soil around your rose bushes.  They like banana peels.

And now, for the recipe!

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed (1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I substituted raisins in for this.)

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl cream shortening and sugar together well.
  2. Beat in eggs.
  3. Thoroughly stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with banana, blending well after each addition.  (On this I did 1/3 of the flour mixture, one mashed banana, 1/3 of the flour mixture, one mashed banana, and the final third of flour mixture.)
  4. Fold in nuts (or raisins).
  5. Turn into greased 9x5x3-inch loaf pan
  6. Bake at 350-degrees till done, 45-50 minutes.
  7. Cool in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes; remove from pan.  Cool thoroughly.
  8. Wrap and store overnight before slicing.
2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Banana Raisin Bread

  1. Looks yum! Banana bread is comfort food for me. When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some bread pudding and would love to heat what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

