A Good, Blessed Day!

Today has been a really good, blessed day.  I really enjoy those kind of days.  Even though it had a couple of unpleasant moments, it really has been good.

Today was my first pregnancy appointment.  My husband took the day off to come with me, and it’s been nice to have him around.  He first went and got his hair cut, which definitely goes toward making the day be considered a good one.  He looks quite handsome with his hair cut short.  Then we ate a bite of lunch before heading to the doctor.  Now I won’t lie, I was nervous about going to the doctor.  I didn’t know what they were going to do, and some of the possibilities weren’t too attractive to me.  Not to mention, I’m just not the kind of person who is thrilled by having to go to the doctor.  In fact, I avoid it if at all possible.

Well, we got there a little early, and when our turn came, the first thing they did was an ultrasound.  My husband and I got to see the baby and hear the heartbeat.  You just can’t top that!  Praise the Lord, everything is well and good.  The baby’s heartbeat was normal and good, everything else looked good, and we are due right in the middle of November.  All is well with the world.  After that fun, they did some lab work, which wasn’t so fun.  In fact, my arm is still sore from having blood drawn, but I’m sure I’ll survive.  Then I got weighed and my blood pressure checked.  My blood pressure is good, but let’s leave the weight part alone.  Then came the part that I dreaded the most:  The Exam.  Well, I survived that, too.  Everything, apparently, looked fine.

The doctor and the nurses and everyone were very nice, patient, and helpful.  We left with a big packet of stuff:  magazines, a book, some forms, and other information.  We set up another appointment for May 10th right before we left.  And to top it all off, I got a little sucker from the bowl off the desk (Yeah, it may have been for kids, but it made me feel better.  I think I needed a bit of sugar after that blood-draw.) and my wonderful, loving husband drove us home, even though we were in my car!

We made it home safe and sound.  And, as if making sure all is well with the baby wasn’t enough, when I checked the mail, we had our tax refund check in the box!

“God is so good!  He’s so good to me!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Baby, Stories

Leave a Reply

