Spaghetti Sauce and Meatballs

I love Italian food!  There is just something about a bunch of noodles smothered in sauce and cheese, flavored with garlic and herbs, with a side of fresh bread that just makes me close my eyes, smile, and sigh.  Hmmm!  So delicious!  And the smell of Italian food cooking is amazing.  And it looks pretty, too.  Yes, Italian food is just fantastic.

I recently decided to learn how to make my own spaghetti sauce, and I really wanted meatballs to go with it.  Of course, I went to the world wide web for help, and thanks to www.allrecipes.com, I found some.  I’ve done a bit of altering to the recipe, though, but you didn’t really expect otherwise.  😀

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

Spaghetti Sauce and Meatballs

Ingredients:

MEATBALLS

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 cup fresh bread crumbs or oatmeal
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley
  • 1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • Worcestershire sauce to taste

SAUCE

  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 reg. size cans  crushed tomatoes
  • 2 reg. size cans tomato sauce
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, combine ground beef, bread crumbs, parsley, Parmesan, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce, and beaten egg. Mix well and form into 12 balls. Store, covered, in refrigerator until needed.
  2. In a large saucepan over medium heat, saute onion and garlic in olive oil until onion is translucent. Stir in tomatoes, salt, sugar. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer 90 minutes. Stir in tomato paste, basil, 1/2 teaspoon pepper and meatballs and simmer 30 minutes more.  Serve.

*I ended up with about twice as many meatballs when I made mine.  I also let them cook longer (about an hour), just to be sure they were done all the way through.  I also used the oatmeal instead of the bread crumbs.  Furthermore, I used regular cooking oil (corn oil, if I remember right), rather than olive oil.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

