The Tree

I had intended to post this poem yesterday, but I was having to edit it before I posted it.  Needless to say, that took a bit longer than I anticipated.  Editing anything can be difficult, and poetry seems to rank among the highest on the difficult scale.  I originally wrote this poem in 2004, just a couple of months before high school graduation.  When I pulled it out of my poem folder yesterday, I really liked the ideas going through it, but I knew it was going to need some help.  I just didn’t realize that about half-way through, the poem would cease to cooperate with me.  However, today is a new day, and I was able to complete it.

As I said in an earlier post, I really enjoy Easter.  As a Christian, it is the single most important day in history and the most worthy of celebrating.  It even surpasses the birth of Christ, which I realize that He could not have died had He never been born, but His dying on the cross for no fault of His own, to bring sinners (as we all are) salvation…Nothing can top that.  I’m not trying to downplay His death and ressurrection, either.  It was an act of infinite grace (for which I am eternally grateful) and unsurpassed glory.

I hope that this poem speaks to your heart (very clearly, considering it’s recent metamorphosis).  And I  hope that it will remind you of the sacrifice that Jesus made on Golgotha’s hill all those years ago.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

“The Tree”

There stood a tall tree,

Humiliated and bare.

Only two stark branches

Stretched out on each side.

Splintered and raw,

Stained crimson red,

Perched high on the hill

Where criminals died.

He was “King of the Jews”

Is what the sign said

And he had hung on that tree

Till he breathed his last breath.

Six hours of torture,

“It is finished,” he said.

He gave up the ghost.

He was gone; he was dead.

The scars on his hands

And the scars on his feet

From being nailed on that tree:

Proof of the grace

He bestowed upon us.

Though its duty is done,

The mark the tree left

Will never fade from

The memory of time.

He had died on that tree

But death could not keep him.

For again he lives!

Rejoice! 

Rejoice! 

Hallelujah!

To God alone be the glory!

“To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood, and has made us to be a kingdom and priests to serve his God and Father – to him be glory and power forever and ever!  Amen.” –Revelation 1:5b-6 (NIV)

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry

One response to “The Tree

  1. tgbtb

    Beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

