Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are easily my favorite kind of cookie, and I’m sure if I took the time to look it up, I would find that chocolate chip cookies top the list a good portion of people, possibly even the majority of people.  I did some thinking and figuring not too long ago, and I realized that I have been making these cookies since about 1996.  If my memory serves me correctly, they were the first recipe I cooked on my own.  I have always been helping in the kitchen, but I think that these were my first solo project.

This recipe is so very simple.  The ingredients are easy to come by; you probably even have them in your kitchen right now.  What is even better is that you can take out the chocolate chips and have a basic cookie recipe.  By changing the chips for oatmeal and raisins, you get oatmeal raisin cookies.  You can make oatmeal cookies, macadamia nut cookies, and so many other possibilities.  Last Thanksgiving I made oatmeal craisin-raisin cookies.  For a Christmas party one time I made oatmeal cinnamon cookies.  Just have fun with it!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups butter flavored shortening
  • 1 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 4 tbsp. milk
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 12 oz. chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Cream shortening, brown sugar, granulated sugar, milk, and vanilla together in a large bowl using a mixer.
  2. Beat in eggs.
  3. Add flour, salt, and baking soda.  Mix until well blended.
  4. Add chocolate chips.  Stir in with a spoon.
  5. Drop onto ungreased cookie sheet.  (About 1-2 tbsp. per cookie)
  6. Bake in a 300-325 degree oven for about 10 minutes until cookies are golden brown.
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

