Strawberry Cream Cheese Pie

Okay, a few days ago I wrote a post entitled “The Pop Tarts That Didn’t Happen.”  I mentioned trying to use a chocolate pie crust for the tart pastry, but it not working.  Well, that left me with a whole pie crust to use in some way.  I think you can see what happened to it.  🙂

This was a whole new creation for me.  I had never had a chocolate pastry pie crust on a pie before, so I wasn’t exactly sure what would be the best way to use it.  I went to Kroger in search of an idea.  I had thought that strawberries would probably be good.  (Chocolate covered strawberries, anyone?)  I just wasn’t sure how to make it into a pie.  I wanted something simple, that wouldn’t cause me to have to buy a lot of ingredients.  Well, I already needed some apple filling (Yes, I cheated.), so I went to get some.  And wouldn’t you know it, there was a whole space dedicated to strawberry pie filling!  It was the first time I had ever seen it in a can!  Amazing!  Well, I had to buy it, too.  Then I got home, and the experiment was on.

This recipe consists of about three recipes.  Now, I’ve been doing some thinking, and I think that at least one of them could be ommitted if you wish.  It can also be switched for something else.  I’m talking about the topping.  I used a babka bread filling recipe, but I think it could be switched out for chocolate ribbons, cookie crumbles, caramel, anything you want on the pie!  I will post the recipe for the topping in this picture, though, if you want to use that.  Also, I mixed the strawberry filling and cream cheese together, but I bet it would be just as good (and probably prettier) if you did them in layers.  It works either way, though.

Now, may I introduce the recipe!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Strawberry Cream Cheese Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 can strawberry pie filling
  • 1 pkg. cream cheese (8 oz.), at room temp.
  • Sprinkle of powdered sugar (about 1 tbsp.  I mostly put it in there for the fun of it.)
  • Chocolate pie crust, cooked (see recipe below)
  • Chocolate topping for drizzling (see recipe below)

Directions:

  1. Beat cream cheese in a medium mixing bowl until smooth.
  2. Mix in powdered sugar.
  3. Fold in strawberry filling.
  4. Pour filling into cooled crust.
  5. Allow to chill at least one hour up to overnight.
  6. Drizzle (or crumble) chocolate topping over the top of pie, cover with plastic wrap, and let cool another hour.
  7. Serve!

 ***

Chocolate Pie Crust

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 cups flour (more if needed)
  • 2 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 6 tbsp. unsalted butter, more for pie plate
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. Sift the flour and cocoa powder onto your work surface and make a large well in the center. Pound the butter with a rolling pin to soften it, so it blends easily when it is added to the rest of the dough ingredients.  (I didn’t do the pounding with a rolling pin thing.  I just mushed it up with my fingers as I mixed everything together.
  2. Put the egg yolks, sugar, salt, vanilla extract and softened butter into the well. Using your fingertips, work all the ingredients in the well together until thoroughly mixed.
  3. Gradually draw in the flour and cocoa powder with the pastry scraper, working them into the other ingredients with your fingertips.  (I don’t have a pastry scraper.  I just used a spoon and my fingers.)
  4. Continue working the ingredients with your fingertips until coarse crumbs form. Press the dough into a ball. If the dough is sticky, work in a little more flour.
  5. Lightly flour the work surface. Blend the dough by pushing it away from you with the heel of your hand. Gather up the dough with a pastry scraper and continue to blend until it is very smooth and peels away from the work surface in one piece; approximately 1 to 2 minutes. Shape the dough into a ball again, wrap it tightly and chill until firm; approximately 30 minutes.
  6. Brush the pie plate with melted butter. Lightly flour the work surface and roll out the chilled dough to a round 2 inches larger than the top of the pie plate. Wrap the dough around the rolling pin and drape it over the plate.  (I couldn’t get it roll out properly, so I just pressed it into the plate like a graham cracker crust.)
  7. Gently lift the edge of the dough with the fingertips of one hand and press it well into the bottom of the pie place with the fingertips of the other hand; pressing lightly to seal any cracks.
  8. Using a table knife, trim the pastry even with the outer edge of the plate. Pinch the dough to make the edge stand up. With one forefinger under the dough edge, pinch the top of the edge between your other forefinger and them to make a wide scallop.
  9. Prick the bottom of the pastry shell with a fork to prevent bubbles from forming when it is baking. Chill the pastry shell until firm; approximately 15 minutes.
  10. PREHEAT oven to 400 degrees and place a baking sheet in the oven to heat up.
  11. Line the pie shell with the double thickness of foil, pressing it well into the bottom edge. Half-fill the foil with dry beans to weigh it down. Bake on the baking sheet for 12 to 15 minutes.
  12. Remove the foil and the beans. Reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees and continue baking until the bottom of the pastry shell is firm; approximately 5 to 10 minutes longer. Transfer to a wire rack to cool and then fill it up.

Pasted from www.misshomemade.com/chocolatepiecrust.html

 ***

Chocolate Drizzle (Topping)

 -Leah Cooks Kosher blog, babka bread recipe

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz. chocolate chips
  • ¼ C. sugar (1/2 C. if you like a sweeter chocolate filling)
  • ½ C.  cocoa
  • 1/3 C. unsalted margarine (or butter)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. In a slightly larger saucepan, put about ½ inch of water.  In a smaller pan (one that will fit inside the first) put all the ingredients.  Set the second pan into the first.  If you have a double-boiler, then use that.  This set up gets the same result for those of us who don’t have one.  J
  2. Bring the water to a boil.  Stir the ingredients until melted and well-blended.
  3. Remove from heat.
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

