Homemade Taco Seasoning

Tacos, tacos, tacos, and more tacos!  As I said before in my “Taco Empanada” post, my husband absolutely loves tacos.  We eat them almost weekly.  Seriously.  That means we go through a lot of taco seasoning.  Up until recently I always just bought McCormick taco seasoning packets, but I decided that we didn’t need all the MSG and other additives.  This, of course, brought me to the digital planet that we call The Internet.  It was here that I discovered a recipe for homemade taco seasoning at http://mygrandmasrecipes.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/homemade-taco-seasoning-mix/.  I had most of the ingredients sitting in my cabinet already, and I would be willing to bet that you do, too.  I have used this seasoning twice, and it has been accepted by my ever-so-slightly picky husband.  Now, I do have to say that I didn’t use this recipe exactly, but I will note where I changed things.

Ingredients:

6 Tablespoons chili powder

5 Tablespoons paprika

4.5 Tablespoons cumin

2.5 Tablespoons onion powder

2.5 Tablespoons garlic powder

2 Tablespoons corn starch

1 Tablespoon oregano

1/2 Tablespoon salt (This leaves the seasoning rather bland, so I upped it to a whole tablespoon.)

1/4 Teaspoon cayenne pepper (This was a bit expensive, so I opted to just go with 1 teaspoon of ground red pepper this time.  I will try to buy the cayenne next time around.)

Directions:

Combine and store in an airtight container.  (I am storing mine in the freezer, but I don’t think you have to do that.  You could also use a food processor to mix the ingredients, just a thought.)

Use 2 heaping Tablespoons of mix + 1/2 – 3/4 cup water to turn browned ground beef into taco filling.

*As a gift:  layer spices into a 2 pint Ball jar.  Tie a ribbon around the lid, and there you go.  🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Hey there, thanks for the link back to my blog! I make so much of this stuff it isn’t even funny. There are other variations of it on AllRecipes – I borrowed from a couple of recipes there to make a version my family loves.

    • You’re welcome! I like to give credit where credit is due. Heaven knows I’m not creative enough to come up with this stuff on my own. 🙂 Thanks for posting it! We really like it.

  2. Pingback: Taco Bake | Following Footprints

Leave a Reply

