What Is Truth?

Spring is upon us!  And with spring comes the celebration of Christ’s death, burial, and resurrection, also known as Easter.  This is my favorite holiday.  It’s the anniversary of the most important day in history, the day that the Savior of the world made that salvation possible!  Without the events of those few days, we would all have no hope and be doomed to Hell, which is exactly what we deserve, but Jesus paid that price for us.  He died in our stead, paid our sin debt, and rose again, effectively defeating death and Satan and ensuring the salvation of those who answer the call of God.  The glory of the Lord is something to be celebrated and remembered indeed!   Although I know it’s not yet Easter, the weather gets me thinking about it that much more, and I wanted to share this poem.  Don’t worry, I have plans for my Easter post already.  🙂

Two or three years ago I wrote this poem to read in church as part of our Easter special.  Every line is a direct quote from the NIV translation of the Bible.  I will put the verses in parentheses and highlight them in red at the end of the lines.  Each stanza starts with “‘What is truth?’ Pilate asked.”

***********************************************

“Truth”

“What is truth?” Pilate asked (John 18:38b)

…the betrayer [had said]

“The one I kiss is the man; arrest him.” (Matthew 26:48b)

[Peter] swore, “I don’t know the man!” (Matthew 26:74b)

…the high priest asked…”Are you the Christ?” (Mark 14:61b)

“I am,” said Jesus.  (Mark 14:62a)

“What is truth?” Pilate asked. (John 18:38b)

He was assigned a grave with the wicked…

Though he had done no violence.  (Isaiah 53:9)

“What shall I do…with Jesus…?” Pilate asked.

They all answered, “Crucify him!” (Matthew 27:22)

They shouted all the louder, “Crucify him!” (Matthew 27:23)

He was led like the lamb to the slaughter.  (Isaiah 53:7)

“What is truth?” Pilate asked.  (John 18:38b)

They said, “He saved others;

let him save himself…”  (Luke 23:35b)

Jesus cried “My God, my God,

why have you forsaken me?”  (Mark 15:34b)

Jesus breathed his last.  (Mark 15:37b)

The centurion said,

“Surely this man was the Son of God!”  (Mark 15:39b)

“What is truth?” Pilate asked.  (John 18:38b)

…he bore the sins of many,

and made intercession for the trangressors.  (Isaiah 53:12b)

God raised him from the dead,

because it was impossible for death

to keep its hold on him.  (Acts 2:24)

For, “Everyone who calls upon the name

of the Lord will be saved.”  (Acts 10:13)

“What is truth?” Pilate asked.  (John 18:38b)

Jesus answered,

“I am…the truth…”  (John 14:6)

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

