Sorghum Cookies

Ahh, cookies!  If I had a specialty in the kitchen, it would be cookies.  I love cookies!  The first thing I remember cooking on my own was cookies.  Nothing beats warm, soft cookies fresh from the oven with a glass of cold milk.  It’s a little piece of Heaven on Earth.

These cookies are a family recipe, and one of my dad’s favorites.  He loves sorghum (also known as molasses to most folks).  Sorghum is a thick, dark, strong-flavored syrup.  My dad is very particular about his sorghum.  For years he would only buy one brand, and when they went out of business, he searched out new sorghum to replace it.  The search took quite some time.  Not just anything would do.

I’m not as big of a fan of sorghum as my dad, but these cookies are delicious.  I just use Grandma’s Molasses in the recipe, so don’t be intimidated thinking you have to buy a special kind to get a good flavor.  Just buy what is offered in the grocery store.  It will all be fine, I promise.  And now, I suppose it’s time for the recipe.

Sorghum Cookies

by:  Myrtle Yarbrough (Mimi, my great-grandma)

Ingredients:

1 cup oil

2 cups granulated sugar

3/4 cup sorghum

2 eggs

4 cups flour

3 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. ginger (My step-mom, Deanie, doesn’t include this ingredient when she makes these because she does not like it, so it’s optional.)

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. salt

Directions:

1. Mix oil, sugar, sorghum, and eggs together well.

2. Add remaining ingredients and mix well.  *Note:  Your dough will become very thick.  Unless you are using a stand mixer, you will probably have to use your hands, which is what I did.

3. Form into balls and roll in sugar.  (When I made these recently, I forgot to roll them in sugar, and they still tasted fine.)

4. Place on a greased cookie sheet.  At this point, I also took a fork and pressed the cookies down and formed a grid pattern on the cookies, like you do with peanut butter cookies.  You can do that or just let them spread on their own in the oven.

5. Bake 8-10 minutes in a 350-degree oven just until they are set.  If you cook them too long, they will be rock hard after they cool.

6. Store in an airtight container to keep fresh.

This recipe makes quite a few cookies.  (I didn’t count them.)  However, if you need more, you can double the recipe, or if it’s too many, just halve it.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Sorghum Cookies

  1. Deanie Yarbrough

    Crystal,
    That is actually Mimi’s recipe.

Leave a Reply

