Anne Marie and Me

I worked at a preschool from August 2008 until August 2011, and as difficult as that job could be, the kids would crack me up.  🙂  They have such a different way of looking at the world.  Thanks to their unique way seeing things, I was inspired to write this little story.  They even listened when I read it to them, which is always a plus!  Therefore, I dedicated it to “my kids” at C.C. Preschool.

*******************

“Anne Marie and Me”

Anne Marie and I were heading home from school.  I was walking.  Anne Marie was skipping.  Anne Marie is five years old, and she never walks.

We had just left school when Anne Marie twirled around and asked, “Do you ever wonder what it would be like to be a bird?”

I’m fifteen years old.  I don’t care about birds, but I said, “Sure.  The world would be too big, and the ground too low.  Birds fly so that they can be taller than everything and see it all.”

Anne Marie only said, “Oh,” and started hop scotching along beside me.

As we turned a corner, Anne Marie did a cartwheel and asked, “Do you ever wonder what it would be like to be a fish?”

I don’t really think about fish, except to go fishing, but I said, “Of course.  The land would be too dry, and the sky too bright.  Fish swim so they can hide in the dark, slippery coolness of the water.”

Anne Marie only said, “Oh,” and started jumping over the cracks in the sidewalk.

A little farther along, Anne Marie twirled again and asked, “Do you ever wonder what it would be like to be a tree?”

I had certainly never wondered about being a tree before, but I said, “Yep.  The world would spin too fast, and everything in the world would move too much.  Trees grow roots and stay put so that they can feel steady all the time.”

Anne Marie only said “Oh,” and danced the rest of the way home.

When we got to our driveway, I stopped to check the mail and asked Anne Marie, “Do you ever wonder what it would be like to be the big brother, like me?”

Anne Marie looked at me like I had just grown another head and said, “Nope.”

“Why not?” I asked.

“Because,” Anne Marie said, “God made you the big brother, and me the little sister.  And I like things that way.”  Then she hugged me tight and ran through the door.

I only smiled and said, “Oh,” as I followed her inside.

The End

This is [Jesus’] command:  Love each other.  – John 15:17

1 Comment

Filed under Stories

One response to “Anne Marie and Me

  1. Awesome! I can see the CC kiddos inspiring you. Oh, the tales we could tell.

Leave a Reply

