Peanut Butter Cups

My husband and I really enjoy Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  I mean, seriously, who doesn’t?  Okay, well, my dad doesn’t, but I digress.  Since I have started trying to make more things homemade, I decided to find a way to make this delicious candy myself.  I knew it could be done because as a teenager, my sister and I made some, but after making them the one time, we were never able to find the recipe again.  It was very sad.  Thanks to the World-Wide Web, however, I knew I could find a good recipe, and I did.  So with a big thanks to www.thehungrymouse.com, I present a recipe for homemade peanut butter cups!

These I made with semi-sweet chocolate chips using the “the hard way” to make them.  I recently made more using milk chocolate chips and “the easy way.”  Using milk chocolate makes them taste pretty much exactly like Reese’s.

Ingredients:

12 oz. bag of milk chocolate chips

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

about 25 paper mini muffin cups

Directions:

1. Place the muffin cups on a cookie sheet.

2. Blend together the peanut butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla until smooth.

3. Using a double-boiler (or two pans, with one sitting inside the other), melt the chocolate.  To do this, put about 1 inch of water in the bottom of the boiler or the bottom pan, place the top of the boiler or the smaller pan inside the first.  Heat the water to boiling on the stove, and put the chocolate chips in the top pan.  Stir the chips often as they melt.  Once they are melted, remove the pans from heat.

4. For the next part you can do it one of two ways:  The easy way or the hard way.

-Easy way:  Spoon out the peanut butter mixture in teaspoons and roll into balls.  Coat the peanut butter balls in chocolate, and place the coated balls in the mini paper cups.  Place the entire cookie sheet of peanut butter cups into the refrigerator for 30-60 minutes to harden.

-Hard way:  This method will acutally take about 18 oz. of chocolate chips.  Use a spoon to coat the muffin cups with chocolate.  Place the muffin cups in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes to harden the chocolate.  Remove from fridge, and begin to spoon about a teaspoon of peanut butter mixture into each cup.  Smooth down the peanut butter with your finger.  Spoon chocolate on top of the peanut butter in the cups.  You may have to reheat the chocolate to do this.  Swirl around the chocolate with your finger or a spoon to create a seal around the peanut butter.  Place the cups in the refrigerator again to harden.

5. Serve and enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Food

6 responses to “Peanut Butter Cups

  1. southerngrits

    Didn’t know you had a blog, Crystal! =) I love Reese’s too and can’t wait to try these out some time! I made a homemade version of snickers one time and they were amazing! I think homemade is always better. 😉

    ~Leanna

  2. Hi there, simply was aware of your blog via Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in case you continue this in future. A lot of other folks will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  3. Dawn English

    these really take patience, good thing I like making deserts

    • Yeah, they do, the second time I made them, I think I just kinda rolled the peanut butter stuff in the chocolate, and set them in the liners to let them harden. They look prettier the other way, but they taste the same no matter which way you do it.

Leave a Reply

