Blueberry Cream Cheese Loaf

blueberry cream cheese loaf

I found this little recipe on Pinterest, and I thought it might make a good Christmas present.  You can find the original recipe here:  http://thekeenancookbook.com/dessert/blueberry-cream-cheese-bread.  Now, I must admit, I have not tried this dessert, but it certainly looked and smelled good when I cooked it.  I’d say that it’s probably not too bad at all, especially if you’re like me and like blueberries.  I managed to make four tiny loaves of this for Christmas presents from the orginal recipe.  I hope you like it!

**************************************************************

Ingredients:

Bread:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups whole blueberries
  • 1 tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Filling

  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp. orange zest (*Note:  I did not have any of this, nor did I have an orange; therefore, I omitted it from the recipe.*)

Glaze

  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. water

Directions:

Filling:

  1. In a medium bowl, combine, cream cheese, sugar, flour, egg, and orange zest.  Beat until smooth, and set aside.

Glaze:

  1. In a small bowl, mix together the sugar, vanilla, and water.  Set aside.

Bread:

  1. Cream together butter and 1/2 cup of sugar until fluffy.
  2. Add salt and vanilla.
  3. Add egg yolks.  (Be sure to save the whites to use later.)  Beat until creamy and set aside.
  4. In another bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups flour and baking powder.
  5. Add flour mixture alternately with milk to the egg yolk and butter mixture.
  6. Coat berries in 1 tblsp. of flour and add to batter.
  7. In a seperate bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form.  Add 1/4 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, until stiff peaks form.
  8. Fold egg whites into batter.
  9. Pour half of the batter (or a little less) into a greased and floured loaf pan.
  10. Layer the filling over the batter, and cover with the remaining batter.
  11. Pour glaze over the top of uncooked loaf.
  12. Bake at 350-degrees for 55-60 minutes.

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Blueberry Cream Cheese Loaf

  1. You made this delicious bread and didn’t eat any? You are much stronger than I am, hahah. Thanks for sharing and the link. Happy New Year 🙂

    • I will definitely be making more so that I can try some. I just didn’t have time the other day with all the Christmas activity. It sure looked good, though! You’re welcome for the link!

Leave a comment